Drum Mics

Cheggs

Drum Mics

Postby Cheggs » Mon Nov 08, 2010 8:19 pm

So I'm just getting into the whole recording side music & have been looking into getting some drum mics. So I was just wondering what mics any of you guys use out there or what mics you've had experience with, positives & negatives of those experiences, etc etc.
My budget isn't huge at the moment, but I was probably going to start my mic collection with an Audix DP7 mic package (comes with 1x D6 bass drum mic, 1x i5 snare, 2x D2 tom, 1x D4 floor tom & 2x ADX51 overheads). Anyone had any experience with these mics?
Oh yeah, in terms of recording gear, I'm currently running Logic through an M-Audio Profire 2626 with a few of my mates SM57's on the drums.
Any insight into this topic would be greatly appreciated! Cheers in advance guys!
Isaac Lee

Re: Drum Mics

Postby Isaac Lee » Mon Nov 08, 2010 9:45 pm

While I don't have any expertise per say on the subject, I would say that I have been happy with my D6 and my cheap Audix overhead condensors. My D6 actually did stop working and I sent it in and it was fixed and sent back very quickly with excellent customer service.

This stuff gets the job done for my current needs. Some day I would like to have an array of high end equipment though. :)
Rodge

Postby Rodge » Tue Nov 09, 2010 4:43 am

Man, I saw "Brillant" Blade with just 3 mics from DPA, I want the same now !!! (very expensive)
I come from Tain, Vinnie, Omar, Jeff, Fish, Stewart, and many more...
Randy Walker

Postby Randy Walker » Tue Nov 09, 2010 5:44 am

those mics are great choices, i use all but the overheads in my studio. I'm running Logic 9
Matus

Postby Matus » Tue Nov 09, 2010 6:08 am