12 x 8 tuning issue - Yamaha players help!

Cymbalfeltfetishist

12 x 8 tuning issue - Yamaha players help!

Postby Cymbalfeltfetishist » Mon Oct 10, 2011 4:32 am

Hey Guys,

I just bought myself a Yamaha Recording Custom drumset and so far I love it. The only problem is I am having a hellava time tuning the 12x8 rack tom….the 10x7.5 and the 16 x 16 sound great and lively..but the 12x8 just seems dead and won’t ring out like the others.

I would like it to sound open, perhaps with a little pitch bend thing happening. Right now I have an Ambassador X on the batter and clear Ambassador on the bottom. I usually don’t have problems with tuning drums whatsoever, I am actually a little proud of my work..lol…but this one is making me worry a little. I’ve re-seated the head to make sure is good. I generally tune the resonant slight higher than the batter. The drums come with Pinstrips on them with clear Ambassador resonant. I don’t like these type of heads generally speaking, so the thinking was, if I put Ambassadors or Ambassador X’s on there, I should be able to open up those drums even more than if I kept a 2ply head on there. I notice when tuning with the Amb or Amb X if I tuned it high, it sounded deader…flat.

I have these heads at my disposal as of now: Coated Amb, Amb X, Clear Pinstripe for the batters and clear Diplomat and Amb for the resonant.

I know there are a lot of Yamaha players on here….I guess what I am asking is… does anybody have any suggestions that have a 12x8 Birch drum or experiences w/ Yamaha Recording Customs and their tuning of them? Any tips on this particular depth of drum? My Gretsch Renowns had a 12x9 and it rang out pretty good…does the one inch make a huge difference? Do these particular drums have a reputation for being dead-sounding? (my 10” and floor sound great tho…) Again, I am looking for a open sound, clear note that doesn’t die out fast. Any help would be appreciated! Signed, perplexed
Christopher